Parachute Games

I love using the play parachute and so do the children I work with.  Excellent for teamwork, gross motor actions, hand eye co-ordination, listening – practically every box of the EYFS curriculum can be ticked.  In addition you can use it for demonstration of musical aspects such as tempo and pulse.  I’m going to post a series of blogs about parachute play over the coming months – they’ll all be listed in a category, called (not surprisingly) Parachute Play so that you can find them easily.

Peekaboo!

The Big Red Dragon Will Gobble Me Up
(to the tune of Here We Go Round the Mulberry Bush)

The big red dragon will gobble me up, gobble me up, gobble me up <shake>
The big red dragon will gobble me up,
All the way up to my knees….
<hold still>

The big red dragon….
All the way up to my tummy…. <hold still>

The big red dragon…
All the way up to my shoulders…<hold still>

The big red dragon…
All the way up to my nose… <hold still>

The big red dragon will gobble me up, gobble me up, gobble me up
The big red dragon has <pause>
 Gobbled me up! <lift up chute and everyone underneath to hide>

The children love the pretend peril of a hungry dragon and really look forward to going underneath the parachute at the end.  I always go underneath too so that I can act as a central ‘tent pole’ and hold the parachute up.  I encourage the children to be as quiet as possible under the chute before letting them go back out to repeat the activity.

Leave a Reply

